Rainbows and Dragonflies

Sewing: Pencil Skirt

Posted on: January 11, 2013

I love pencil skirts and try to keep a few in my closet at all times. They’re very feminine and fit in with my love of retro clothing.  A few weeks ago I found a black ponte knit at the fabric store and knew that I had to make one. Between Mademoiselle Chaos’ and Cotton & Curls’ tutorials I got it done.

Since, I used a knit fabric I omitted darts and just concentrated on 5 measurements: waist, hip and knee circumferences, distance from waist to hip, and distance from waist to hem. I used my French curve to draw the lines connecting all.

Pencil Skirt Sketch

I cut two pieces (front and back) and straight-stitched along the sides with a (roughly) 1/2″ seam. Zig-zagged the top and bottom with a 5/8″ seam. The project went pretty smoothly.

Black Ponte Knit Pencil Skirt

And now for my mistakes:
I’m still learning my lengths and widths on my machine so the zig-zag stitches aren’t even on the hems. Also, I didn’t realize that I didn’t have any black thread. I REALLY wanted to wear my skirt the next day so I used navy thread and hoped for the best. LOL You can’t really tell but I know the colors are off.

I’m excited to make another one. This time I will buy some black thread and I think I’ll add a side zipper. The skirt goes over my hips well without one but tucking in my blouse was difficult.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to "Sewing: Pencil Skirt"

this is haute! You betta werk!

Leave a Reply

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

