Rainbows and Dragonflies

“Brain” Cupcakes

Posted on: October 31, 2010

Annually my department has a “Fall Festival” to celebrate Halloween. I wasn’t sure what to bring but after seeing the Halloween Cupcakes posting over at Make It and Love It I knew some baking was in order. I decided that I wanted to do the ghost and brain cupcakes and if I found the right materials I’d do the spider cupcakes.

Well, since I went shopping the night before the party I didn’t find the supplies I wanted for the spider ones. I decided to work on the ghost cupcakes and started making the marshmallow fondant. I’d never made fondant before so I thought it would be a fun challenge. I got the shortening spread and the powdered sugar sifted and piled. I put the marshmallows in the microwave and waited for melting. I’m sure you can see where this is about to go. I haven’t worked with marshmallows in a LONG time and didn’t think about the expansion when heated. Needless to say when the timer went off my microwave was covered in marshmallow. *sigh* I cleaned up and put the sugar away for another time.

My last resort was making the brain cupcakes.  I had never made buttercream before (there seems to be a theme here) but I thought why not. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter except I added 5 tbs of milk because of the dry air. I separated the buttercream into two batches and tinted each with one drop yellow and one drop red. I baked the cupcakes that night and in the morning I frosted. They don’t look as great as I had hoped but I think they’re great for a first try. I want to make them again next year and by then I’ll have some piping equipment instead of just using a ziploc bag with the tip cut off.

Leave a Reply

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

