Rainbows and Dragonflies

Santa’s Coming

Posted on: December 22, 2010

Solstice Greetings. Christmas is three days away and I’ve been thinking about how much fun it will be to introduce Li’l T to Santa Claus in the coming years. I’ve been slacking with the Christmas spirit this year so it works out that he’s too little to understand what’s going on. It’s ON next year, though. I love that I grew up in a family that was big on holidays. My mom always made a fruitcake and forget what you’ve heard homemade is the BEST! We usually got our tree the week of but we always had decorations and stockings. We had a tradition that we were allowed to open one present before we went to bed on Christmas Eve. Of course my parents didn’t put out the GOOD stuff but little things to tide us over until the morning. My younger sister and I would barely sleep as we anticipated what Santa would be bring us for the next day. I fondly remember those days and I want the same for Li’l T. I want him to feel the wonder of writing a letter and mailing it off. The joy of not knowing what may be under the tree. Leaving out milk and cookies and wondering how Santa got into the house. The world is such a cruel place right now and I want that space of magic, joy and hope for him for as long as he’s able to hold on. Santa, get ready, we’ll see you next year.

Leave a Reply

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

