Rainbows and Dragonflies

20 Months

Posted on: August 10, 2011

20-Month-Old Child

Life can be pretty scary sometimes, especially for little ones. To the rescue: you!

Lions and tigers and bears, oh my! At this age, toddler fears and phobias may emerge with a vengeance, with sudden noises, strange animals, and doctors at the top of the list. The fact is that getting smarter (which toddlers do at an amazing rate) enables children to imagine all kinds of frightening scenarios, yet they’re not mature enough to sort out what’s possible from what’s not. In other words, you know the vacuum cleaner can’t suck him up, but he doesn’t. There are plenty of ways to help him cope with his fears, the first of which is acknowledging that they’re real and that you’re afraid sometimes, too. Another hallmark of the approaching-two set is aggressive behavior (i.e., hitting, biting, and hair pulling) fueled by frustration (I know what I want, but I don’t know how to get it!), egocentricity, and lack of impulse control. Again, you are his ally and teacher when it comes to learning how to tame aggressive instincts; try praising positive behavior, providing opportunities for venting, and keeping playdates brief and small. And while most parents find that living with a toddler is far from easy, some (about one in four) must deal with children who are truly difficult in one way or another. For example, some are super high-intensity and some have trouble adapting to (any) change. Remember, your child’s inborn temperament is neither his fault nor yours, and there are effective strategies to help both you and your toddler cope, support being key among them.

Li’l T is back from his vacation and this past week my nephew was here. The two of them were hilarious. Li’l T could not start or end his day without messing with J. Wrestling, running, lots of giggling. They reminded me of when my niece was around J’s age and J was around Li’l T’s age. I swear it’s always the younger one that messes with the older. LOL

I’ve been thinking about what we should be be teaching Li’l T now. I don’t know where he should be at this age and I don’t want to push him. But I see other kids around his age and hear about the things that they’re learning. I didn’t even know that he could absorb counting right now until he came how from daycare and counted to three. We’ve been reinforcing the things that he’s learning but I want to be the one introducing him to new things. Guess I need to do some researching.

2 Responses to "20 Months"

Research Maria Montessori’s stages of child development. It really opened my eyes. At this age kids absorb so much, but we must be careful about what we throw at them. It’s too early for numbers, alphabet, colors. They can and will repeat (i.e. “count”) but they don’t associate any real meaning with what they are parroting. Instead, I focus on sensory development because that is the stage for 18-24 month olds. we do lots of music, work with puzzles and blocks, physical activity, etc.

Thank you. I don’t want to put unnecessary pressure on him but I don’t want him to be behind either. I’m sure I’m overthinking it as usual.

Leave a Reply

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

