Rainbows and Dragonflies

I’m a Runner

Posted on: September 3, 2011

“I’m a runner.” I’ve finally been able to admit that to myself. I kept saying that it was just a phase and a way to lose weight. In reality, it is now something that I love. I have days where I don’t want to run, of course, but I feel so much better when I push through.

After the 2011 Semper Fi 5k

I run roughly a 13 minute mile. I’m trying to increase my speed without injuring my knees in the process. In July, I ran the Semper Fi 5k. The Run! Geek! Run! 8k is in two weeks and the Rock ‘n’ Roll Savannah 1/2 marathon is in two months just in time for my birthday. I’m looking for a jogging stroller so I can take Li’l T out while I train. Any recs?

I like to run outside because the treadmill and track are so BORING! I need to have some scenery go by so I can take my mind off of how long I’m running. I told my dad about my runs and he let me know that my mom used to run. I nearly teared up to know that I still have that connection with her.

2 Responses to "I’m a Runner"

A 13 min mile is impressive! Keep it up. Running is such a great full-body workout. So glad you have found something you share with your mom. That made me smile.

Thank you. I’d like to get down to a 10 or 11 but I’m not going to push it this year. I’m starting to think that I’m built more for endurance than speed but we shall see. I NEVER thought I would be a runner so this amuses me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

